The Royal Python Forum
The Royal Python Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Royal Python Posts
 Royal Python - General Keeping information
 Advice with heating for newbie

Note: You must be registered in order to post a reply.
To register, click here. Registration is FREE!

Screensize:
UserName:
Password:
Format Mode:
Format: BoldItalicizedUnderlineStrikethrough Align LeftCenteredAlign Right Horizontal Rule Insert HyperlinkInsert EmailInsert Image Insert CodeInsert QuoteInsert List

* HTML is OFF
* Forum Code is ON
Smilies
Smile [:)] Big Smile [:D] Cool [8D] Blush [:I]
Tongue [:P] Evil [):] Wink [;)] Clown [:o)]
Black Eye [B)] Eight Ball [8] Frown [:(] Shy [8)]
Shocked [:0] Angry [:(!] Dead [xx(] Sleepy [|)]
Kisses [:X] Approve [^] Disapprove [V] Question [?]

T O P I C    R E V I E W
Dixon Posted - 18/05/2012 : 13:27:11
Hi,
I am new to royals and have mine currently housed in a RUB with heat mat under the rub with thermostat inside and everything is fine so far.

I like to plan ahead and know I have lots of time before I move her in to a viv but have some questions about heating that I hope someone can help with.

Option 1. I appreciate heat mats with royals are not a good idea inside a wooden viv because of the risk of the snake getting burnt, even it a stat is used. An alternative to this could possibly be to make a thin wooden frame with thick Perspex on the top and bottom, like a double glazed window. It would then be possible to attach the heat mat to the bottom piece of Perspex and the snake could happily lie on the top piece without any fear of compressing the heat mat due to the space between the two sheets.

Some people seem to prefer mat as they say the bottom heat helps with digestion so the above would seem a reasonable idea.