Sorry, Some basic questions.
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

louise32
Yearling

275 Posts

Posted - 02/01/2011 :  19:14:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If these have been covered elsewhere then sorry but had a look around and just needing some help with a few questions.

Firstly I am new to snakes. Have a corn snake who is doing really well. Did lots of research before I got him and I think that's why he is doing great. His setup is perfect, his temps are great and he is feeding brilliantly and very tame. I want to be prepared when I do get a Royal so here are a few questions.

1. I'm really confused about heating for royals as I only researched heat mats for my corn, so I don't have a clue how bulbs etc work, if thats what Royals need so any help would be great.

2. If I got a young Royal, what setup should they start off in and again, how do I heat it.

I'm pretty sure I understand most things but keep getting in a muddle about the heating for Royals with them being so plump lol

I really don't want to bring one home until I am 100% sure I understand everything to do with the heating and setup.

reptiledanny
Old Royal - I Post too much!

United Kingdom
2106 Posts

Posted - 02/01/2011 :  19:27:15  Show Profile  Click to see reptiledanny's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
royals when young would b better off going into a small rub, or a faunarium, like a corn, and would be heated by a heat mat like a corn would be
but when royals get older and go into a viv, because they are large bpodied snakes, they need to be heated by a bulb of somekind, so either an ir bulb, which gives off heat and a bit of light, or a ceramic bulb, which just gives off heat and no light. a bulb would need to be statted. a ceramic bulb would need to be statted by either a pulse proportional or a dimming stat, whereas an ir bulb can only be statted by a dimming stat.
hope this has helped