Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Royal Python Posts
 Royal Python - General Keeping information
 Night bulb or no night bulb that is the question??
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

tall chris
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - 25/02/2011 :  12:30:28  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey everyone,
Im a newbie on here and have been looking at some of the setup pics and was just wondering..... at the mo i have a ceramic bulb and a heat mat in my viv but have notice some of the setups have moon bulbs/ night bulbs? is this nessasary and would anyone advise i get one. I have a uv strip in there at the mo just for lighting the viv during the day but turn this off at night.
can somone shed some light on this for me please? (excuse the pun!)

Nuttierman
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
25 Posts

Posted - 25/02/2011 :  14:31:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Chris, I'm a newbie too. I have been advised that a heat matt is not a good idea for Royals, ok when they are young and small but a deffinate No No when they get bigger. As for the lighting, I can only go by what I have read/got from my reptile shop, and there is no specific need for a moon/night bulb. Royals are shy and not know for being out much in the daylight, but also need to be aware of night/day hrs. The suggestions I have had are using a Infra Red light to light up the viv so you can see you snake at night but no need for moon/night lights.

Don't take my word as given, I am only going on the research/info I have been given, but least it's a start.

Nuttierman
1.0 Royal Pastel - Yoda
1.0 Hognose - Pumba
0.1 Spider Royal - TBD
1.0 Border Collie - Benji
Loads of Tropical Fish
Go to Top of Page

Royalbob
Royal Python Moderator

United Kingdom
1115 Posts

Posted - 25/02/2011 :  15:09:28  Show Profile  Reply with Quote