New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

nikki0421
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
43 Posts

Posted - 21/09/2011 :  19:18:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a bit confused as to whether to feed in or out of the viv. I've read that feeding outside can reduce the risk of getting bitten when reaching into the viv and also to reduce the chance of ingesting substrate. But now I've been told that handling after feeding can cause regurgatation so how would I get him back in the viv. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

python23
Yearling

United Kingdom
108 Posts

Posted - 21/09/2011 :  19:47:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
always feed outside the viv, picking a snake up for a few seconds to put it back in to the viv after feeding wont cause regurgitation, ive been keeping snakes for nearly 10 years and not one of my snakes has thrown their meal back up. dont worry about feeding outside the viv, theres plenty more pros than cons, infact i cant think of any bad reasons why you wouldnt do it that way, i hope this helps. good luck.

02 Corn (female)
03 Amel corn (male)
03 Amel corn (female)
03 Royal reduced pattern (male)
05 Royal normal (male)
09 Het Pied (male)
10 Royal normal (female)
10 Het Pied (Female)

Go to Top of Page

boomslang
Old Royal - I Post too much!

United Kingdom
2025 Posts

Posted - 21/09/2011 :  19:49:46  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
It depends really,its really upto you.One of mine won't take it in the viv,and will only eat in a rub in the spare room.The other,i take out to handle abit then feed in a rub.

And one freaks out,if not fed in her house.

I like to get mine out for 15/30 mins each on feeding day to handle etc.then i just feed in a rub as there out anyway.

As for handling,moving from rub to viv is cool.its more like long handling that will cause regurgatation.

1.0.0 pinstripe Royal Python
1.0.0 Bumblebee Royal Python
1.0.0 Normal corn
1.0.0 Extreme red Hognose