New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

grifter
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
3 Posts

Posted - 29/09/2011 :  10:30:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I'm a newbie and am seeking advice for my son who has a 6 month old Royal. We've had him for about 3 weeks and he seems fine although still a bit aggressive. He sometimes will even strike out as you are passing his home. He is currently housed in a large Exo Terra Breeding Box with an Aspen substrate. He has a log hide and a largish water bowl in which he likes to soak. He also has a small sandstone rock. Temp of the substrate is around between 80-90 but we cant get the air temp above 80. I dont know about humidity. He strike feeds regularly every 5 days on small mice. He has defecated once. Within the last couple of days he has become very possessive of his water bowl and adopts a threatening pose if you go anywhere near it - the closer your hand gets the closer he moves his head. Any thoughts and general advice will be very welcome. I did wonder whether he may be constipated and this was what was making him grumpy. He has never shed to the best of our knowledge though we have a similar age corn which has shed twice since we have had it. Thanks for any help.

Tawfik47
Fully Grown Royal

Czech Republic
1584 Posts

Posted - 29/09/2011 :  11:13:52  Show Profile  Click to see Tawfik47's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
I don't know, but i think Blitz some times do the same, except he is not worry about the water bowl, but every time -since he started to eat- i want to change the water, he come out thinking i'm going to put a prey in the viv. i think this is a good sign that he is strong and hi appetite is good. I'm not sure i'm right, but this is what i think.

1.0.0 Common Boa - Revo CB13

I had a royal python (Blitz) for two years for those who are wondering what I'm doing here with my boa :D
Go to Top of Page

grifter
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
3 Posts