A Few Questions
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

paulie78
Hatchling

United Kingdom
97 Posts

Posted - 24/01/2012 :  10:21:23  Show Profile  Click to see paulie78's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hi guys sorry to be a complete newb but i want to make sure i get everything right so if its ok ive made a short list of questions

1. How often will my royal shed is it the same as corn snakes once a month or so when young gradually lessening as the snake gets older

2.I plan to provide a damp hide during shedding whats best to put inside it ?

3.I know aubiose is fine to use as substrate for my corns is it ok to use for the royal too are they any substrates i should avoid (i know to avoid pine and cedar)

4.Do royals like to climb i was initially led to believe that corns were primarily ground dwellers but i added branches to the enclosures and found mine love to climb and wondered if i shpould add branchs for my royal ?

Many thanks for taking the time to read and respond to my questions

Paul

"Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come around again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes."..Terry Pratchett

Edited by - paulie78 on 24/01/2012 10:22:31

wiseman94
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - 24/01/2012 :  12:00:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
1. I've always found around about once a month when young and lessens as time goes on.

2. I put mine in the hot end, which will provide more humidity.

3. I don’t know about aubiose but I use aspen or unprinted newspaper.

4. Some royals climb, some don't. I've always given mine the option to climb in their viv's, and if they don't bother branches etc make some nice decoration.

1.0 100% HET Royal Python
0.1 Albino Royal Python
0.1 Spider Royal Python
1.0 Pastel Royal Python
1.1 Lesser Royal Pythons
1.3 Normal Royal Pythons
0.1 Mojave Royal Python
1.0 Orange Ghost Royal Python
1.0 Dumerils Boa