New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

russm
Yearling

United Kingdom
161 Posts

Posted - 25/08/2009 :  09:10:21  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I thought I was on to another good thing when I had another successuful strike the other night. He constricted the poor mouse so hard its innards came out. Rotten! He had bitten the mouse in the side so had to do some re-arranging to get it down, only problem was that he decided to go the wrong way and try to take it backwards. After a valiant fight he gave up. Luckily he went for the head after I had repositioned it head on. I was just wondering if it better to try and get him to drop the mouse if he is struggling or just leave him to battle away with it backwards?

2.1.0 Royal - Memphis & tbc
2.0.0 Labs - Cooper & Max
1.1.0 Clown fish
0.0.2 Goldfish
0.2.0 Rats - Izzy & Tess

Vazzza
Yearling

United Kingdom
131 Posts

Posted - 25/08/2009 :  09:32:38  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm new to pythons, but my king used to eat backwards more often that not and didn't have a problem, hearing the legs snap back was interesting tho! I think the right advice would be to let the battle commence, if he manages to eat it, great, if not then he will stop himself anyway. But pelase wait for someone else's advice as well

0.0.1 Royal Python
0.1.0 Girlfriend
0.0.1 Sister
Go to Top of Page

matty18714
Royal Python Moderator

United Kingdom
2016 Posts

Posted - 25/08/2009 :  10:42:14  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If he goes for the wrong end and eats it, thats fine. If he goes for the wrong end, and finds he cant eat, leave him to it. He will manage eventually. If he gives up because he cant find the head, give it another wiggle with the tongs moving it so that he has to strike the head.

Go to Top of Page

kashie
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
567 Posts

Posted - 25/08/2009 :  11:05:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote