my new royal set up
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

mossy89
Snake Mite

25 Posts

Posted - 28/12/2009 :  17:00:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ok im new to reptiles been keeping and breeding tropical fish now since i was 16 (im 20 now) . my viv is 30"x24"x24" id like to get a royal python, ive done alot of reading and was lerking aroud the forum for a while trying to build my knowledge and thought id join today
so what i want to know is am i on the right track shopping list so far is .. 2 hides not too big as i plan on getting a hatchling . one water dish one heat mat ( not to sure on size help?) for the sub a was planning on using eco earth? or bark but i like the looks of eco earth and thought it would help with humidity . and some moss (for the hot hide ) few plastic plants and a log or 2 . have already got a digital thermostat and a stick on humidity thing and thermometer

thanks for any help and advice in advance. joe

Blackecho
Royal Python Admin

United Kingdom
11327 Posts

Posted - 28/12/2009 :  17:35:28  Show Profile  Click to see Blackecho's MSN Messenger address  Send Blackecho a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Hi, welcome to the forum.

Make sure your thermometer is a digital one, the dial ones are next to useless, you can pick them up on ebay for a couple of pounds.

A 30" viv is a bit too big for a hatchling Royal, personally I'd put a partition down the middle and just move the partition as the snake grows.

Royals don't need additional humidity, room humidity in the UK (50-60%) should be fine. Most people use Aspen or Newspaper, I use Aubiose which is very similar to Aspen, but half the price.

Go to Top of Page

mossy89
Snake Mite

25 Posts

Posted - 28/12/2009 :  21:17:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
hey thanks for your help yeah i think i will half the size of the viv for it whiles its young
Go to Top of Page

Blackecho
Royal Python Admin

United Kingdom
11327 Posts