Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

SaltyTurtle
Yearling

155 Posts

Posted - 31/07/2011 :  15:57:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone, as you know I'm new to this and wanted some advice...

I got my 3-4 month old CF Royal Baby last week, and was originally going to house him in an old 30 inch(L) x 16 inch(H) x 12 inch (D) glass Jewel Aquarium. ( I since know this is not ideal).

I have since moved him into a 9 litre RUB which is inside the tank, with half on the 20W heat mat, which is underneath the glass tank, and the tank raised up 1cm on wooden supports to allow airflow.

I've put the thermometer probe ( digi thermometer, NOT from the thermostat) under his RUB between the glass and the container, on the warm side (over the heat mat).

I've got a hot & cold hide, the cold one with sphagnum moss (however you spell it) and that thicker type kitchen towel 3 layers deep for floor. Pottery water bowl and cork bark hide complete the picture.

Running the heat mat under half of the RUB I am getting temps (read under the RUB) of 33-35*C, controlled by a Microclimate DL1ME Microprocessor controlled 'dimming' stat, with built in Magic Eye for day/night drops (optional). Humidity in this set up is between 55-60.

I am happy with that end, and since the RUB is fairly small, I'm sure it's not heaps cooler the other end, although it is unheated.

Problem is, the heat mat provides no AMBIENT heat to speak of, and so the true cold end of the TANK (Not RUB, ya follow?) only gets to about 22*C ( normal room temp plus maybe 1 or 2)

This is of no concern now, but going forward to when he's bigger, I want to have him in a viv, as I am not happy with the thermal dynamic of the glass tank.