Food Safe Varnish
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

acd1984
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
687 Posts

Posted - 04/08/2011 :  09:58:22  Show Profile  Click to see acd1984's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
Hi, im getting some air drying clay, i will be making a cave but also a water bowl, can someone suggest a varnish that will work with air drying clay but one that will be food/reptile safe for the waterbowl.

Or suggest anything else i should use instead.

I dont own or have access to a kiln so glazing is out.

thanks

1.0.0 Lesser - Helios
2.0.0 Normal - George & Kairo
1.0.0 Mojave - Bolt
0.1.0 Mojave - Roxi
1.0.0 Leopard Gecko - Leo
0.0.1 Crocodile gecko - Pheonix

BlueDragon
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
876 Posts

Posted - 04/08/2011 :  10:40:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
A little word of warning you might like to know. I'm an artist (apparently) and do a lot of craft work. I've used air drying clay before and it crumbles pretty easily. I just don't know, even with varnish, how it would cope with a snake sliding over it all the time is all. But I've never tryed it, so maybe I'm wrong.

As for varnishes, I can't help much there I'm afraid. Sorry. I can only sugest finding a kiddie safe one.

ETA: You can get oven drying clays. They seem to be more resiliant and stronger. They seem to last longer. I think you can also get varnishes for using with ovens too.

Just me and my zoo.

Edited by - BlueDragon on 04/08/2011 10:42:16
Go to Top of Page

acd1984
Sub Adult

United Kingdom
687 Posts

Posted - 04/08/2011 :  15:52:10  Show Profile  Click to see acd1984's MSN Messenger address  Reply with Quote
TBH iv never heard of oven drying clay.

The clay was only cheap, so if its rubbish it wont be a big deal. I may try oven drying clay next

1.0.0 Lesser - Helios
1.0.0 Mojave - Bolt
0.1.0 Mojave - Roxi

Go to Top of Page

sandi
Sub Adult

787 Posts