Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

becky2009
Snake Mite

United Kingdom
4 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2009 :  22:49:23  Show Profile
Our Royal Python has gone 11 days without food since he shed, he is usually a good feeder. How long should I wait before seeking veterinary advice?

He usually to eat 2 mice or 2 small rats every week, and has done since we got him in November.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dazzetski
Yearling

United Kingdom
461 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2009 :  22:54:08  Show Profile  Visit Dazzetski's Homepage  Click to see Dazzetski's MSN Messenger address
I'm new to snakes & haven't gone through my 1st shed, they can go months without food & still be ok as long as they're not losing much weight, try your best not to worry. I'd suggest weighing him once a week & take it from there. There are lots of tips on here about "super heating" the head, braining etc GOOD LUCK

0.2.0 Cats (Spud & Phoebe) RIP Stevie fat man
1.1.0 Royals (Syd & Sofia)
2.2.3 Corns (Hogan, Shaggy, Sparkle, Tango, Fred, Haribo & Go Faster)
0.0.1 Columbian Rainbow Boa (Escobar)
1.1.0 Variable King Snakes (Lancelot & Guinaverre)
0.0.20 Fish

Edited by - Dazzetski on 11/02/2009 22:55:09
Go to Top of Page

Blackecho
Royal Python Admin

United Kingdom
11327 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2009 :  23:06:23  Show Profile  Click to see Blackecho's MSN Messenger address  Send Blackecho a Yahoo! Message
How old is he, how much does he weigh?

They are well designed to go for long periods without food.

Go to Top of Page

Gingerpony
Royal Python Moderator

United Kingdom
2663 Posts

Posted - 12/02/2009 :  19:30:25  Show Profile  Click to see Gingerpony's MSN Messenger address
it might sound silly but have you had your central heating turned down or on timed instead of constant? i notice a change in feeding patterns when the ambient temperature drops, although this should be less of an issue if you're using a ceramic to heat the viv.