1115 Posts

Posted - 19/01/2011 :  15:33:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by louise32

quote:
Originally posted by ballgirl

quote:
Originally posted by jo-jo-beans

Had a wee read through this thread and found it very interesting. Like yourself Ballgirl, im pretty new to royals, only had my wee Sunshine for a few weeks now. He's a CB 10 (birthday in august :-) and I put him straight into a 3ft viv, as I was really struggling with temps for the rub.
There should be pictures of the viv about.

He's taken to it really well, just had his 3rd feed with me (YAY) on rat weaners, and he's striking like a maniac!!! He's also a climber and explores everywhere, through his tunnels and various hides.

So, im guessing (being a newbie an all) it really depends on the snake.

Thanks Jo-Jo-Beans,

I did read your thread and this was partly why I was thinking it's so hard to keep a smaller enclosure at the right temps.

I think I will keep him in his 18" faunarium for now and see how he feeds - we haven't tried to feed him yet. I'm not 100% sure about the temps of the faun if I'm honest. The guy who I bought him off told me to put the thermometer on the mat itself, with the thermostat probe next to it and set the thermostat to 33.5 degrees - so that when the thermometer reads this figure, the stat turns the mat off. It drops about 4 degrees and then starts up again. But I don't know what temp that makes it inside the faun. I might move the temp probe at the weekend and take some readings from there. I would be happier if I knew the temp inside I have to admit.

Anyone with any ideas if I should be doing something different, please speak up!

My new King is in a 9L rub (very simlar saize to an 18 inch faun)
The heat mat is underneath the rub.

My thermometer probe and thermostat probe are tied together with a small rubber band and both are inside the rub, with the probes touching the base just above the heat mat.