Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

anatess
Sub Adult

USA
669 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2009 :  08:41:07  Show Profile
P.S. I guess humidity is not as big an issue over in the UK from what I understand, it is constantly humid over there. But then, forgive me, I don't know what I'm talking about since I've never been to Europe. Hah! One of these days, I'm gonna save up enough money to go on a vacation to see the prince and his royal guards.

Snake owner since Oct 2008, so yeah, I'm no expert.
0.1.0 pastel royal
1.0.0 spider royal
0.1.0 albino royal
1.0.0 bumblebee royal
1.0.0 yellowbelly royal
0.0.1 wild-type royal
1.0.0 normal western hognose
Go to Top of Page

Paulie B
Snake Mite

Ireland
24 Posts

Posted - 12/01/2009 :  15:21:32  Show Profile
I am new to the snake world and cannot offer experienced advise however, from what I have read and been told by owners you should try and keep your royals on frozen thawed. The longer you leave it though the less likely your chances are of suceeding. Have you tried to heat the thawed prey item? you can do this with a hair dryer however, I just put the frozen mouse into a deli tub and let it defrost on the radiator. That way when you dangle the prey to the snake it is still warm. You could then try "braining" the prey item. I have not needed to try this but again, it is worth a shot. If they dont take the warm mosue from the tweezers leave it on a log or something in her viv and see if she sniffs it out herself.

Good luck and keep us posted on developments

Snakes:
0.1.1 Carolina Corn's
0.1.0 Royal Python
0.1.0 Hogg Dwarf Boa

Tarantula's: